Industrial Safety and Health FAQs

The Kansas Department of Labor Industrial Safety and Health Division (ISH) is responsible for identifying safety hazards and helping Kansas businesses and public sector entities eliminate unsafe practices. The division promotes programs throughout the state designed to help Kansas workers avoid on-the-job injuries and provide a safe working environment.

Amusement Ride Permitting Program (ARPP)

What is an Amusement Ride?

Per Kansas Statute, an amusement ride is defined as:

    1. "Amusement ride" means any mechanical or electrical device that carries or conveys passengers along, around or over a fixed or restricted route or course or within a defined area for the purpose of giving its passengers amusement, pleasure, thrills or excitement, including, but not be limited to:
      1. Rides commonly known as Ferris wheels, carousels, parachute towers, bungee jumping, reverse bungee jumping, tunnels of love, roller coasters, boat rides, water slides, inflatable devices, commercial zip lines, trampoline courts and go-karts;
      2. Equipment generally associated with winter activities, such as ski lifts, ski tows, J-bars, T-bars, chair lifts and aerial tramways; and
      3. Equipment not originally designed to be used as an amusement ride, such as cranes or other lifting devices, when used as part of an amusement ride.
    2. "Amusement ride" does not include:
      1. Games, concessions and associated structures;
      2. Any single passenger coin-operated ride that: (i) Is manually, mechanically or electrically operated; (ii) is customarily placed in a public location; and (iii) does not normally require the supervision or services of an operator;
      3. Nonmechanized playground equipment, including, but not limited to, swings, seesaws, stationary spring-mounted animal features, rider-propelled merry-gorounds, climbers, slides and physical fitness devices;
      4. Antique amusement rides;
      5. Limited-use amusement rides;
      6. Registered agritourism activities;
      7. Any ride commonly known as a hayrack ride in which patrons sit in a wagon or cart that is then pulled by horses or a tractor or other motor vehicle;
      8. Any ride commonly known as a barrel train, which has a series of handmade cars fashioned from barrels that are connected and pulled by a tractor or other motor vehicle; or
      9. Any amusement ride owned by an individual and operated solely within a single county for strictly private use.

    If you have further questions, submit your question with a photo, if possible, and a detailed description to KDOL.Amusements@ks.gov

Do I need an email address to register a business entity and amusement rides with KDOL?

A valid email address is required. You cannot create an account, register an entity, or permit rides without an email address. Your email address will serve as your User Name when creating your online account with the Kansas Department of Labor, Division of Industrial Safety and Health.

What are the Business/Entity types?

  • Antique: Businesses that own and operate only antique amusement rides.
  • Amusement rides manufactured prior to January 1, 1930 are considered antique.
  • Limited Use: Allows only for nonprofit, community-based organizations that operate an amusement ride less than 20 days, or 160 hours, in a year and are in one location per year.
  • Registered Agritourism: Business operates only Registered Agritourism activity rides. Business/Entity must be registered with the Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism.
  • Governmental Agency: Classification allows only governmental agencies or municipalities.
  • Not For Profit: Only for businesses or organizations legally structured as a not for profit entity (NFP) and taxed accordingly.
  • For Profit: Business is operated for the purpose of making a profit.

What if my business can be classified as more than one business entity type?

Pick the business entity type that best fits your business. The following cost and insurance requirement schedule may help you determine which option to choose.

Supporting documentation may be required. For example, your business entity may qualify as both a Limited Use and Governmental. The business entity registration fee is the same. However, limited use will pay a higher per ride fee, but requires lower insurance coverage.

Antique:

  • $50 Entity registration fee;
  • $50 Permit fee per ride for permanent or temporary ride locations;

AND

  • Proof of insurance with minimum coverages of $750,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 annual aggregate. 

Limited Use:

  • $50 Entity registration fee;
  • $50 Permit fee per ride for permanent or temporary ride locations; 

AND

  • Proof of insurance with minimum coverages of $750,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 annual aggregate.

Registered Agritourism:

  • $50 Entity registration fee;
  • $50 Permit fee per ride for permanent or temporary ride locations; 

AND

  • Proof of insurance with minimum coverages of $750,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 annual aggregate. 

Governmental Agency:

  • $50 Entity registration fee;
  • $10 Permit fee per ride for permanent or temporary ride locations; 

AND

  • Proof of insurance with minimum coverages of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 annual aggregate.
  • (Per K.S.A. 40-4802, “this requirement shall be satisfied if the owner of such amusement ride is the state or any subdivision of the state and such owner selfinsures, or participates in a public self-insurance pool in accordance with K.S.A. 75-6111.” (Documentation of self-insurance must be provided at the time of registration.) 

Not For Profit:

  • $50 Entity registration fee;
  • $10 Permit fee per ride for permanent or temporary ride locations; 

AND

  • Proof of insurance with minimum coverages of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 annual aggregate. 

For Profit:

  • $500 Entity registration fee for operation at a permanent location; and
  • $100 Permit fee for each permanent Class B ride;
  • $75 Permit fee for each permanent Class A ride. 

OR

  • $250 Entity registration fee for operation in temporary locations; if you operate at temporary locations; and
  • $30 Permit fee per ride, for either Class A or Class B rides; 

AND

  • Proof of insurance with minimum coverages of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 annual aggregate. 

What are Class A and Class B rides?

  • Class A = designed for use primarily for individuals age 12 or less
  • Class B = any ride that is not Class A

Register Entity: Step 2-Responsible Individual: What address should I use?

Use a mailing address that can receive correspondence from the Kansas Department of Labor, Division of Industrial Safety and Health. While a vast majority of the correspondence will be sent via email, it is occasionally necessary for KDOL to send correspondence through the mail.

Are there specific insurance requirements?

Yes. The State of Kansas has minimum coverage requirements. See What if my business can be classified as more than one business entity type? above.

What if there is not a serial number on my amusement ride?

If the amusement ride does not have manufacturer’s serial number, you are required to create a serial number that is unique and not duplicated with other amusement rides within your organization. The serial number must be permanently affixed or attached to the ride.

What is a Qualified Inspector?

This is the individual who inspected your ride(s). A qualified inspector must meet the requirements of KSA 44-1601(n). See the KDOL website for more information regarding qualified inspectors.

ASTM International

What is an ASTM signer?

This is the person who signed the certification that states that the amusement ride meets ASTM standards. Most of the time this is the same person who inspected the ride.

What is an ASTM report/certification?

An ASTM report /certification typically provided by your inspector that certifies that the ride meets ASTM standards.