Labor Relations FAQs

The Kansas Department of Labor Labor Relations Division acts on behalf of the Public Employee Relations Board (PERB) to administer the Public Employer Employee Relations Act (PEERA) and for the Secretary of Labor to administer the Professional Negotiations Act (PNA). These Kansas laws, enacted more than 35 years ago, establish the right of public employees in Kansas to organize and negotiate with public employers regarding terms and conditions of employment and grievances. Please select from a Labor Relations category below to get more help. 

null Which Kansas cities and counties are currently under PEERA?


  • Burlington
  • Chanute
  • Coffeyville
  • Dodge City
  • Ellis*
  • Hutchinson
  • Junction City
  • Manhattan
  • Russell*
  • Topeka
  • Wichita
  • Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, KS


  • Ellis
  • Leavenworth
  • Norton
  • Phillips*
  • Russell*
  • Shawnee
  • Sedgwick County Fire District #1
  • USD 259 (Wichita, KS)
  • USD 489 (Hays, KS) - Service and Maintenance
  • USD 497 (Lawrence)
  • USD 500 (Kansas City, KS) - Clerical; Paraprofessional; Shop & Maintenance*; Security Officers; Bus Drivers*
Note: * denotes unit bargaining representative decertified or withdrew representation.