Child Labor Laws Notice Kansas Hour Restrictions

This poster is only required to be displayed if you employ youth under 18 years of age and are NOT covered under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Employers not covered by the FLSA are required to follow Kansas child labor laws. If you have a question as to which law (federal or state) applies, contact the Federal Wage and Hour office. **Most employers are covered by the FLSA and follow federal child labor laws.**

> There are no hour restrictions for minors ages 16 and 17. Hour Restrictions for minors ages 14 and 15:



May not work before

7 a.m.



May not work after

10 p.m.

(except on nights that do not precede a school day)



Maximum Hours

8 hours per day 40 hours per week



Hazardous Occupations

No child under 18 can be employed in any occupation declared hazardous by the U.S. Secretary of Labor. Limited exemptions apply. For more info, visit <u>dol.gov/agencies/whd/child-labor</u>

FEDERAL

For information on federal laws and guidelines, contact:

U.S. Department of Labor Office

Wage and Hour DivisionGateway Tower II(913) 551-5721400 State Ave., Suite 1010Toll Free (866) 487-9243Kansas City, KS 66101dol.gov/agencies/whd/flsa

STATE

For information or answers regarding Kansas state law, contact:

Kansas Department of Labor Employment Standards 401 SW Topeka Blvd. (Topeka, KS 66603-3182

(785) 296-5000, opt. 5 <u>dol.ks.gov</u>

