The KDOL Unemployment Insurance Contact Center

Topeka area: 785-575-1460
Toll Free - 1-800-292-6333

Information for furloughed federal employees in Kansas

Mon - Wed, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Thursday 8 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Revised 11/17/2024 Friday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

During a government shutdown, employees who are not required to work under one of the

exceptions of national defense, law enforcement or other activities directly involved with the

protection of life and property are furloughed, that is placed in a non-pay, non-duty status

I <ans as until the shutdown ends. In the event of a federal government shutdown, federal employees
Department of Labor may be eligible to apply for Unemployment Insurance (Ul).

Am | eligible for Ul benefits?

In Kansas you may apply for benefits on or after the first day you are furloughed. Furloughed employees should be
eligible as long as all other state eligibility factors are met.

NOTICE: If you are retroactively paid by your employer for the period of time in which you were furloughed,
you will be required to repay the Kansas Department of Labor (KDOL) for any Ul benefits received during that
timeframe.

How do I file an unemployment claim?

Ul initial and weekly claims are processed by KDOL. There are two ways to file, online or by phone:

Online: Go to KansasUl.gov and click on the Log_in/Register button. At any point in the online claims process
you may be instructed to call the Contact Center to complete your claim.

Phone: Call one of the following Ul Contact Center phone numbers. After following the automated prompts,
you will be transferred to a Customer Service Representative (CSR) who will complete your claim. Our Ul
Contact Center is open Monday - Wednesday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Thursday 8 a.m. to 3:15 p.m., Friday 8 a.m. to
4 p.m.

How soon will benefits be paid and how long will they continue?

After you have applied for and been determined to be eligible for benefits, a weekly certification must be filed at the
end of each week for which you are applying for benefits. You must submit your weekly certifications on time by
certifying online anytime Sunday through Saturday or by calling the Ul Contact Center Monday through Friday.
Claimants can also self-service through the IVR outside of Contact Center hours by calling the contact center.

The first eligible week of any new claim is a waiting week. You will not receive benefits for the waiting week and it
is not included in your weeks of payment. For eligible individuals KDOL issues most benefit payments within 14-21
days after a claim has been filed. A maximum of 16 weeks of regular benefits will be paid to eligible individuals.

Information Needed to File Your Claim:

» Social Security number (SSN)

» Wage verification (Copies of pay stubs or W-2 forms would be valid) from all sources of income

» Most recent Standard Form (SF)-50, and/or SF-8 (if issued)

» Most recent federal earning and leave statements (pay stub)

» Mailing address and phone numbers of employers you worked for in the last 18 months

» The starting and ending dates of your last job (or jobs if more than one employer in last 18 months)

« If you worked anywhere during the week for which you are filing your claim, you will need to know the
gross amount (total dollars and cents before any deductions) of your pay before filing
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